Skip to main content




Tuesday, July 23, 2019 

At the recent 122nd session of the Council of the International Maritime Organization (IMO), representatives of the member states decided to award the International Maritime Prize for 2018 to Joseph J Angelo, a former United States Coast Guard (USCG) and International Association of Independent Tanker Owners (Intertanko) senior executive.

Angelo, who participated in IMO meetings for many years, providing leadership on a number of key regulatory developments, will receive the award in recognition of his invaluable contribution to the work and objectives of IMO and to the international maritime community as a whole.

The US Government and Intertanko highlighted Angelo's constructive and collaborative work with all stakeholders to achieve outcomes. Angelo was active in a number of IMO bodies, most notably the Maritime Safety Committee (MSC) and the Marine Environment Protection Committee (MEPC). He first attended the MEPC's 13th session in 1980 and attended every session since, up to and including MEPC 73 in 2018.

The US Government said Mr. Angelo was known as "IMO Joe", in recognition of the respect held by all for the knowledge, skill and cooperation he freely offered. He respected the Organization and believed in its enduring mission, recognizing that the success of IMO rested not on the accomplishments of a few, but on the accomplishments of everyone.

Angelo graduated from the United States Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point in 1971. After a stint in the US Navy, he joined USCG as a civilian in 1977, rising to become a member of the Senior Executive Service in 1992. He retired from the USCG in 2005 and joined Intertanko to manage their Americas operation, becoming Acting and later Deputy MD, while being responsible for Intertanko's engagement at IMO. He was Head of the US delegation to MEPC from 1993 to 2004. From 2005 to 2019, he attended MEPC as Head of the Intertanko delegation. He chaired numerous important working groups.

Angelo first attended MSC in 1982 (MSC 49), leading the US delegation in the Working Group on Harmonized System for Survey and Certification. In 2003, Mr. Angelo chaired MSC 77 – which agreed to develop goal-based ship new construction standards, a key safety initiative.

The International Maritime Prize is awarded annually by IMO to the individual or organization judged to have made the most significant contribution to the work and objectives of the Organization.

Reader Comments (0)

There are currently no comments on this article. Why not be the first and leave your thoughts below.

Leave Your Comment

Please keep your comment on topic, any inappropriate comments may be removed.

Return to index

Web Analytics